iPhone4 vs iPhone4S

Posted: October 5, 2011 by RenzReport in NFL

By now, I hope that you have read my previous piece: iPhone: Life & Religion To Some!

This time around, I’m here to do a quick comparison between the iPhone4 (last year’s model) vs. iPhone4S (latest model)

Engadget has made it very simple –  they have already provide an easy comparison of the 2 products.

From the looks of this comparison, there isn’t much of a difference between these 2 models, but the 4S will cost consumers an additional $100 for the 8GB model.  In my eyes, it is not worth it.  If you’re in the market for a new phone, I would suggest that iPhone4 is the best practical route.  The difference between the 4 and 4S is not enough to tell the difference for end users.  Both phones look exactly the same and  the user experience will not be any different from the other.  So in that case, be a smart consumer and take a hard look at the iPhone4.

If I were in the market for a new phone, but not in dire need of one, I would wait until next year to purchase a new iPhone.  This year’s 4S is featured as a hybrid device or as they call it a “world” phone that supports AT&T’s GSM and Verizon/Sprint’s CDMA networks, which is very cool and innovative, but cellular data is speed is moving in a different direction.

Both AT&T and Verizon have switched to faster LTE technologies and I fully expect next year’s iPhone to support these fast emerging technologies.  Although, I’m not certain where this will leave the Sprint, who using nothing but a high-powered “hot-spot” called WiMAX and has the nerve to call it 4G…I find so much humor in that!  So I would hate for consumers to get a new phone this year and end up in the same predicament iPhone3G users were in when the iPhone3GS came out.

At the same token, it still frustrates me how the industry continues to call LTE and even WiMAX fourth-generation wireless (4G).  Neither protocol has yet to achieve speeds comparable to the 4G standard.  Huff, but all it took was the International Telecommunication Union to change all that in December 2010…I wonder who paid who? :-)…but that’s another post in itself, so I won’t bore you with those details…

So consumers, play it smart out here.  I’d hate to see become a victim of “oh, I should have wait until this year” argument!

Enjoy!

Comments
  1. LBC says:

    YES!!!!!! THEMANCAVE06 GEEKSQUAD!!!!! ::DOES A JIG::

  2. LBC says:

    i can’t wait to NOT buy a phone *richan voice*

Leave a Reply

