My ManCave06 Bracket (Before It Gets Torn Up)

Posted: March 14, 2012 by dontbeskerritt in College Basketball, Just Turrible, Must See TV
Tags: , , ,

 

This will be me by Saturday

LBC challenged me to put up my bracket for the 2012 Tournament.  Not wanting to look lik I don’t know what I’m talking about, I accepted his request.  I will unveil my entire bracket on Thursday, but today I reveal my South and West Regions with the winners of each region.  Thursday will be the East and Midwest, leading to my eventual National Champion.  I will also explain why I chose each winner.  But, none of this matters because I never won a pool in my life anyway.  So you probably should do the opposite of what I say. Winners in bold:

South Region – 1ST ROUND

1 Kentucky vs 16 Western Kentucky

Umm, the Hilltoppers had 28 turnovers vs Mississippi Valley State.  I didn’t even know that was a school.  Imagine what Kentucky will do.

8 Iowa State vs 9 UCONN

This will be a theme for my bracket.  Stay away from the Big East going deep this year.  UConn has the talent but they never feel like living up to it.  I gotta love the Mayor Fred Hoiberg and Royce White for the Cyclones

Do the Rams have another run?

5 Wichita State vs 12 VCU

You can pick against Shaka Smart in a tournament game if you want to.  I won’t be so bold.  But Wichita State is no cupcake.

4 Indiana vs 13 New Mexico State

I really wanted to pick NM State because their athleticism will give the Hoosiers problems.  But I think Indiana has enough offense to survive.

6 UNLV vs 11 Colorado

Love Colorado’s late season run, but I can’t pick against the Runnin’ Rebels.

3 Baylor vs 14 South Dakota State

Gotta love the nickname Jackrabbits.  But Perry Jones III will jack up SD State on Thursday

7 Notre Dame vs 10 Xavier

Watched a lot of A-10 ball this year.  You could argue that Xavier shouldn’t be in the tournament.  Zip’em up early

2 Duke vs 15 Lehigh

Duke always has to win in the 1st Round.  It’s in the Bible

2ND ROUND

1 Kentucky vs 8 Iowa State

The Mayor has no answers for the Unibrow

You can't tell me Jack Cooley isn't Harangody's long lost twin

4 Indiana vs 12 VCU

It would be sweet to see Kentucky vs Indiana.  That’s why I picked VCU so it would happen *shrugs*

3 Baylor vs 6 UNLV

Unfortunately Perry Jones jacked and ran and didn’t show up for the next game…as usual.

2 Duke vs 7 Notre Dame

Duke probably will actually win this game because Notre Dame doesn’t have the guard play to really break down Duke and Luke Harangody’s clone will not be enough for the Plumlee twins.  But I hate Duke so there.

SWEET 16

1 Kentucky vs 12 VCU

Calipari will have his team focused.  Kentucky won’t mess up just yet.

6 UNLV vs 7 Notre Dame

UNLV can make a deep run y’all, I’m letting you know right now…so you can avoid them.

ELITE 8

1 Kentucky vs 6 UNLV

I remember when UNLV crushed UNC.  I remember when Kentucky beat UNC by 1.  This has nothing to do with this game.  Just go with Kentucky.  Kentucky the South Region winner.

West Region – 1ST ROUND

1 Michigan State vs 16 LIU-Brooklyn

Love Michigan State this year, not bad for starting the year getting blown out on a boat

Will Barton is a DMV icon...but he won't go far8 Memphis vs 9 Saint Louis

Memphis is better than an 8th seed.  Too bad, cause they are only getting one win.  Don’t sleep on Saint Louis with Rick Majerus as their coach.

5 New Mexico vs 12 Long Beach State

To make me feel better about the Pitt loss earlier this year I will ride Long Beach State.  Casper Ware is scary good (see what I did there) and you need good guards in the tournament.

4 Louisville vs 13 Davidson

Stephan Curry ain’t walking through that door.  But maybe he left his ankles in the Davidson locker room.

6 Murray State vs 11 Colorado State

If you only have one loss on the year, I guess you gotta win at least one tourney game.

3 Marquette vs 14 BYU

God loves this matchup: Marquette better pray they don’t have as many turnovers as they had in their Big East Tournament game

7 Florida vs 10 Virginia

I would say this is an upset but Florida is not good.  So there’s that.

2 Missouri vs Norfolk State

At least the music will be good at the game.

2ND ROUND

1 Michigan State vs 8 Memphis

Again Memphis should have been a higher seed.  If you remember the UNC Washington game from last year, this game will be just like that.  Memphis is good but I trust Izzo’s squads

4 Louisville vs 12 Long Beach State

Louisville is the best Big East team in this tournament so I have them in the Sweet 16.  But they won’t get far.

I don't know when Frank Haith became a good coach, but he is hitting the right buttons this year

3 Marquette vs 6 Murray State

I had to really research this one.  So after flipping a coin…sike actually Marquette is 102nd in the country in rebounding, Murray State 237th.  So while both these teams can score, I trust Marquette to dominate the glass.

2 Missouri vs 10 Virginia

I’m a history geek so bear with me.  In WWII, the German attack was built on speed.  The Russians slowed the Germans down, eventually aggravating and stopping them.  Well that’s what Virginia wants to do to Missouri.  But you can’t stop the Tigers blitz

SWEET 16

1 Michigan State vs 4 Louisville

The sweet 16, where the Big East goes to die.  Michigan State will be prepared for Louisville’s pressure D.

2 Missouri vs 3 Marquette

My eyes might bleed in this game.  But Missouri is better.

ELITE 8

1 Michigan State vs 2 Missouri

Gotta love guard play and Missouri’s is playing excellent right now.  When all else fails trust the team with the better guards.

Comments
  1. LBC says:

    Long Beach St is a first and second round sleeper. Good job my friend.

Leave a Reply

