Talent and Production: The Great Emotional Divide

Posted: July 21, 2013 by dduren06 in NFL

Nfl: what seperates the NFL Star from the draft bust?

Matt Waldman breaks it down in this post. Give him a follow if you are a student of the game.

The Rookie Scouting Portfolio (RSP)

This is my seventh year studying the on-field performance of football players. I can say unequivocally that I know more about the techniques and strategy of the game than I knew when I began. I’m also beginning to realize that I have learned just as much about player evaluation during the four months I have spent creating content for this blog. However, much of what I have learned from my interviews of colleagues has less to do with technique, strategy, or what to physically seek from a player and more to do with what none of us know.

Things that even NFL GMs and personnel directors will never know for sure:

How a player will manage the great emotional divide that must be crossed in order to transition from college talent to productive pro.

The process is something that my friend and colleague Sigmund Bloom describes as trying to gain…

View original post 1,676 more words

Leave a Reply

