6 Thoughts from Week 5

Posted: October 7, 2013 by dontbeskerritt in NFL

ScreenShot2013-10-07at9_03_03AM_original_crop_north1. Tony Romo: Good game, good effort. But on a serious note, there is no way the Cowboys are in that game without the otherworldly performance by Antonio. Unfortunately, the book has been written that he has a block when it comes to the 4th quarter/December. However, based on Sunday’s performance, I predict that Mr. Romo’s book isn’t quite finished yet.

2. Whatever I said about Romo, multiply it by 1000 for Matt Schaub. Except for the otherworldly performance. And the good game part. And that the book isn’t finished. Schaub might be toast. It’s a shame because the Texans were Super Bowl contenders until their QB fell off a cliff.

3. I’ve defended Cam Newton for years. One year, he has no talent around him. Next year, his coaching staff is negating his talents. I’m running out of excuses for him now. Granted, that same coaching staff is there. And his go-to receiver is 34 years old and 5’9″. But he should be making guys around him better and he isn’t. He shouldn’t be turning the ball over 4 times against the Cardinals. Ah well, I’ll just blame Mike Shula.

4. Since Cam is letting me down, Terrelle Pryor is going to be my new favorite young gunner to watch for a long time. Speaking of which, Andrew Luck is quietly asserting himself as the best of the new class of QBs that have come out in the last 3 years. Andy Dalton is probably ranked behind T.J. Yates right now.

5. Can’t just talk QBs. To borrow a quote from the best Browns fan I know (actually, the only Browns fan I know) Ed Bailey: “If the [Browns] offense doesn’t turn over the ball for us, our defense will keep us in every game.” Unfortunately, Brandon Weeden is back starting (duh, another QB), but the Browns have definitely reverse jinxed themselves back into relevance.

6. Back to the Cowboys (and really the whole NFC East in general). What made us the “SEC of the NFL,” was the defenses that we had for many years. The Giants in the 80s. The Eagles’ Buddy Ryan and Jim Johnson defenses. Cowboys with their Doomsday and early 90s defenses. The Redskins as well. These days? I don’t want to make you sick with the stats but, there may be some flag football squads that can put up 20 on all of these teams.

WHO’S REAL:
– Tony Romo
– Sound Trax from the NFL
– The AFC West
– Peyton’s Bootleg Game
– Jimmy Graham’s Leaping Ability
– Baylor Wide Receivers
– 37-year old NFL Players (Peyton Manning, Tony Gonzalez
– A 28 point spread in the Broncos-Jaguars game
– Rob Ryan’s Buddha Belly
– Rex Ryan’s Figure

WHO’S NOT:
– Tony Romo
– Defense in the NFL
– Pink Flags
– The Kiffin Family
– Cancer & Concussions
– Atlanta Falcon’s Offensive Line
– Patriots not resigning Wes Welker
– Colin Kaepernick
– Eli Manning being better than his Brother
– Matt Schaub Struggle Face

Face of Champions

Face of Champions

Comments
  1. LBC says:

    It is now Tuesday, and I am finally over the Sunday game and moving forward. So, as the truest Cowboys fan on the planet. Here is my assessment Romo played well. He was very close to playing great. I don’t award credit for playing well. I knew Romo can go throw for throw with Peyton, I have been saying this since he became our starter (no one listened to me though). However, we suffered the same fate regardless of what excuse we give (he stepped on Tyron Smith foot). I see a bright side to this and a downside so lol at Romo being real and not.

    However, has anyone noticed our defense has allowed 4 400 yard passes this season? It is only week 5 bruh. Why did we win fire Rob Ryan? We shouldn’t win giving up 51 points. Is this the PAC 12?

    I said these were keys to Dallas beating the Broncos if all happened I said we would win. You can see which ones didn’t happen.

    – Force two turnovers
    – Don’t turn the ball over
    – keep Peyton under 50

  2. Stephanie Gray says:

    My Panthers continue to let me down 😦

Leave a comment